Steve's Tidbits

Short stories about my life experiences.

The Lie Detector


 

While in the military, I was asked to take a lie detector test.  When I got out of the Air Traffic Control career field, I was required to be “assessed”; many controllers have difficulty adjusting to the fact they are not controllers any longer when they leave the field.  Seeing how my pre-enlistment test scores qualified me to do any job offered to enlisted airmen, with the exception of an interpreter, I wasn’t worried.

After I retired from the Air Force, I was surprised to find some businesses in the civilian world had taken up administering lie detector tests as a requirement for being hired.  I had many questions about what type of questions would be asked, who would have access to the information, how and where the results would be used, and how the managers and businesses reputations would hold up under such scrutiny.

I found myself applying for a job, and being asked to take a lie detector test.  Having a good sense of humor, I decided to turn the tables on the interviewer.  After explaining that I was very concerned about ensuring the company I chose to work for was “above board”, and the people I would be working with and for were all on the up-and-up, I asked the interviewer to take one also.

Shortest job interview I ever had!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment